Jason Bertschy Memorial High Point Exhibitor Award

Jason Bertschy Memorial High Point Overall Exhibitor Award     1973-1986

The Jason Bertschy Memorial Award honors the life of Jason Bertschy, the son of Doug and Shirley Bertschy of Gravette.  Jason was a former AJCA member and avid young cattleman who lost his life in a farm accident in 1986. Jason loved exhibiting his steers and Simmental heifers at county, district, state, regional and national shows.  This award is presented annually to a member of the Arkansas Jr. Cattlemen’s Association.  This award includes total points for all breed divisions as well as showmanship. No points from the TOP 5 Divisions will be included.  

Mt. Pleasant Farms Support Arkansas Jr. Cattlemen’s Association Members

Doug & Shirley Bertschy of Mt. Pleasant Farms near Gravette have made a generous contribution to the Arkansas Jr. Cattlemen’s Association that will sponsor the use of an aluminum stock trailer for one year to the winner of the AJCA OVERALL HIGH POINT EXHIBITOR OF THE YEAR.   The AJCA member with the highest number of points in all divisions (all sanctioned shows, all breeds/divisions and showmanship) will receive the award.  A memorial plaque that hangs in the Arkansas Cattlemen’s Association headquarters will also bear the winner’s name.

The Bertschy’s have sponsored this award for 30 years.   The AJCA High Point Overall Exhibitor of the Year Award – Jason Bertschy Memorial was first established in 1987. The award is the highest honor an AJCA member can earn.  The Bertschy’s son, Jason, loved exhibiting his Simmental heifers and crossbred steers at his county and district fairs as well as at the Arkansas State Fair, the American Royal and regional and national Simmental junior breed shows. Jason was 13 years old in 1986 when he died in an ATV accident on my family’s farm.  To honor the memory of Jason and to support and award other like-minded livestock youth, friends of the Bertschy family established this award.

AJCA members thank Mt. Pleasant Farms for their support and sponsorship.     They are also excited about this award. The winner is announced during the AJCA Super Saturday event held in conjunction with the Arkansas Cattlemen’s Association Convention and Trade Show in August.


1987    Thomas Buchanan, III

1988    Shane Plyler

1989    Caleb Plyler

1990    Marya Yancey

1991    Lance Wright

1992    Jeremy Clark

1993    Emily Sweat

1994    Amanda Ivey

1995    David Cranor

1996    Kelli McKinnon

1997    Jessica Fisher

1998    Alan Lee

1999    Robby Shofner

2000    Kyle Green

2001    Haley Rieff

2002    Cody Birkner

2003    Matthew Lott

2004    Corey Green

2005    Kevin Morrison

2006    Caitlin Haley

2007    Cody Green

2008    Leigh Ann Bridgers

2009    Cassie Godwin

2010    Katy Tunstill

2011    Chancee Clark

2012    Kylee Sigmon

2013    Sarah Caldwell

2014    Kylee Sigmon

2015    Logan Sigmon

2016    Caleb Caldwell

2017    Sydney Standridge

2018    Josie Wilkins